Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) 2: The Role of Imagination in Organizing Knowledge, Karl Weick.

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
6 min readJan 22, 2023

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

Image source: https://think.kera.org/2021/11/29/the-limitless-human-imagination/

Today’s offering is a short but powerful article by Karl Weick- who wrote the “Drop your tools” article and the “Mann Gulch disaster” article about smokejumpers in Montana for those of you familiar with a favorite design primer we use. Weick is a fantastic source for deep organizational study, design, innovation, and ‘knowing in action’ as he often frames his variation on reflective practice. His book “Managing the Unexpected” is a short but powerful book I will put a review up for in the weeks to come as well.

This Weick article is available here at Taylor & Francis, and yes, it is behind a paywall. I am sorry about that, but many readers have access to libraries…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!