Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) 17: ‘Cyberneticizing the American war machine: science and computers in the Cold War’ by Antoine Bousquet

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
3 min readMar 17, 2023
Image source: https://nsarchive2.gwu.edu/nukevault/ebb371/photos/photo%202.jpg

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

Today’s article is again in our continued focus area on AI, decision-making in military affairs, complexity and how militaries perceive innovation and culture. Last week’s article (an Australian occasional paper for their defense forces) was by Dr. Peter Layton, and like Peter, I have known this author, Dr. Antoine Bousquet for many years now. Antoine now teaches at the Swedish Defense University in Stockholm, and his exceptional book “The Scientific Way of Warfare” has a brand new second edition out- available online. His article, “Cyberneticizing the American war machine: science and computers in the Cold War”, is…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!