Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) 14: ‘From War 2.0 to quantum war: the superpositionality of global violence’ Der Derian

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
4 min readFeb 28, 2023
Image source: https://bigthink.com/starts-with-a-bang/quantum-entanglement-weirder/

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

Today’s recommended innovation/design article is a rare gem, but also a challenge for many readers. The author blends complexity theory, quantum theory (metaphorically), classical war theory and postmodern philosophy to propose a war paradigm shift to ‘War 2.0.’ This is not an easy read, so if you decide to download the PDF at the link below, buckle in and get ready to study each page and likely look up unfamiliar terms and concepts- they will come from not just quantum theory, but postmodern warfare theory too.

This article is over at Taylor & Francis, so unfortunately there is an academic paywall. Again, I urge readers in…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!