Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) 13: ‘The Origin and Meaning of Miles’ Law’ by Rufus Miles [JSTOR access for PDF]

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
8 min readFeb 25, 2023

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

image source: https://www.gpb.org/news/2022/03/08/senate-bill-cracks-down-on-local-school-boards-ability-eject-disruptive-parents

Ever hear the phrase: “Where you stand depends on where you sit?” That saying is called “Miles’ Law” and comes from Rufus Miles. While the notion is as old as ancient Greek philosophy, the specific saying comes from when Miles was a director in 1948–1949 for the U.S. Bureau of the Budget, which oversaw the Federal Security Agency, the Veterans Administration, the Department of Labor, and several lesser agencies. The article is available through JSTOR, so there is an academic paywall in effect at the link below. Like other article recommendations, I urge military readers to go to their base or post library, or reach out to any PME program as their library should be…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!