Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) 11: ‘On the Use of Models in Corporate Planning’ by Russell Ackoff- and Why Militaries Should Read this.

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
6 min readFeb 17, 2023

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

Image source: https://twitter.com/reuterspictures/status/1623019893720248320/photo/1

When the military thinks “problem”, what is the very next word associated? 100% of the time, it is “solution.” We correlate a “problem-solution” formulaic arrangement through our particular doctrinal, linear-causal, systematic manner of pairing a managerial decision-making methodology (called JPP, MDMP, MCPP, and a host of cloned equivalents) with a mechanistic, Taylorism inspired and Newtonian styled frames (paradigms) for interpreting reality. But is there more than “Imagine goal, find problem preventing said goal (ends), identify solution, direct ways and means to solve problem, achieve predetermined goal, rinse, repeat?”

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!