Emergence & Complexity Science applied to Warfare [Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) #20]

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
16 min readApr 23, 2023

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter, and LinkedIn for new articles in this series.

Image source: https://mwi.usma.edu/201551on-future-warfare-1/ (MWI credits Call of Duty Wiki)

Today’s article is actually a 3x part engagement. This is a longer Medium post, so I ask that readers scroll all the way down and consider the links and the lengthy additional content in here too. Trust me, if you want to dive deep into ‘emergence’ and consider it beyond the tragically superficial, mostly ‘Wordle’ level interpretations rendered in our recent military doctrine and training contexts, this will be worth your time. If you are not already following me on Medium or subscribed for email updates, please consider joining me. And on Twitter ( @bzweibelson ) I regularly post fresh content from what I am reading and researching now- everything that eventually goes into content here and in my formal…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!