Artificial Intelligence, Drone Swarming and Escalation Risks in Future Warfare: [Recommended Innovation Articles (and Commentary) #30]

Ben Zweibelson, PhD
4 min readJun 4, 2023

This is a series I am posting to Medium where I share links to articles concerning innovation, strategic change, design thinking, and related topics. You can simply check my article feed and find all of them based on the reoccurring title theme and numbering such as above. People ask me frequently for article suggestions, and I also maintain several innovation distribution lists where I provide commentary and suggestions on one article at a time. I do tons of research for my work and am using this Medium series to share thoughts and recommendations on what stuff I think is top-notch on a wide range of topics and disciplines. All thoughts below are of my own opinion, and while most of the linked articles will be freely available, some may be behind paywalls due to where the article is published. Follow me on Medium, Twitter (@BZweibelson), and LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/benzweibelson) for new articles in this series.

Image source: https://www.defenseone.com/technology/2018/11/us-militarys-drone-swarm-strategy-just-passed-key-test/153007/

Today’s article focuses on AI, drone swarming, and what could upset the traditional nuclear deterrence and “MAD” context nuclear armed adversaries maintain. The article is titled “Artificial Intelligence, Drone Swarming and Escalation Risks in Future Warfare” and was authored by James Johnson. It…

--

--

Ben Zweibelson, PhD

Philosopher of Conflict; works at U.S. Space Command; All opinions my own!